Nutribullet recipes for green smoothies and green soup

I’ve been on the hunt for a new blender, especially now that the “off” button on our old (over 25 years old!) blender quit working (don’t ask how we turn it off– it’s a process).  One day, an infommercial for the Nutribullet caught my eye.  I did a little research, and promptly ordered one online.

It really is as easy to use as they claim– and it does a better job of grinding up fruit and veg than the old blender, hands down!  I toss frozen fruits and water into one of the containers (usually a frozen banana, some strawberries/peaches/pineapple/canteloupe… whatever’s over-ripe and thus was tossed into the freezer) and whiz it for 15 – 30 seconds and I have a wonderful smoothie!

But my true love is savory “smoothies” , and the Nutribullet handles greens with ease, creating waaaaay nicer smoothies than my blender.  My newest fave lunch is green soup:

In the larger Nutribullet container, fill over halfway with frozen spinach leaves.  Add a large handful of frozen peas and carrots.  Add one peeled clove of garlic and a good sized chunk of sweet onion.  A large squirt (or two) of Mrs. Bragg’s Amino (unsalty soy sauce) and a squirt of Sriracha (Thai hot sauce that I add to everything.  I have bottles squirreled away all over the house and office) a few shakes of Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute (an herb seasoning mix– use your fave) and then water or veg broth to the fill line.  WHIZZZZZZZ.   Heat it up for soup, or drink cold for a cooling lunch.

Delish!

For more green smoothie recipes, see my blog here and here.

PS– I’m not affiliated with Nutribullet, but I am a very very happy customer!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Nutribullet recipes for green smoothies and green soup

  1. At last recipes for the NutriBullet that are VEGGIE forward.. I was super tired of all the daggone fruit forward recipes.. I prefer savory over sweet, and this recipe is a GREAT start for me.. So thank you thank you thank you!!

  2. Tracie Ervin

    I usually blend spinach leaves, half a banana, garlic glove and orange juice. These gives me a glowing face but bad breath. However I feel healthy after drinking it.

Leave a Reply

