Orange embellished silk tunic

I belong to the Wearable Arts Connection, the wearable arts group in Los Angeles. This is a wonderful group of women, many of whom exhibit their art in the Bernina Fashion show, teach at Los Angeles colleges and fashion institutes, and sell their art around the country. It is always inspiring to attend a quarterly meeting, and I drive home with my head spinning with ideas and inspiration.

Last year, I participated in the WAC annual fashion challenge. To my shock, I won Best of Show! I have the award hanging proudly in my studio, along with a unique “ribbon”, made for me by last year’s winner.

Why am I telling you all of this? Well, after my previous post regarding my green “embellished silk fusion” vest, several of you have expressed interest in seeing my “embellished silk fusion” tunic. This orange silk tunic was my creation for the annual Wearable Arts Connection challenge, Threads, Yarns, and Strips.

orange-silk-tunic-full-outfit-blog.jpgorange-silk-tunic-back-full-blog.jpg

The white satin pants were thrifted, with stamps and stencils. The bottom of one leg reads: fabric fabric fabric thread thread thread. The other leg reads: shoes shoes shoes. There are other sayings and leaves (my favorite artistic icon) stenciled all over. The shirt is orange crushed velvet, and used to be a dress. The blue scarf is freeform knitting.

Here are the shoes I wore:

zebra-clogs-blog.jpg

And of course, I wore my favorite “freeform” necklace!

carla-necklace-blog.jpg

This was a birthday gift from my artistic feathered friend, Carla. She started it off, and I added some meaningful bits and baubles. Isn’t it cool?

Anyway, that’s the story of my orange silk tunic. I love to wear it around– the color makes me happy, and there’s always something sparkly to look at!

3 Comments

Filed under embellished silk, Fashion, Fiber, Fiber Art, sewing, shoes, silk, wardrobe

3 responses to “Orange embellished silk tunic

  1. This tunic is gorgeous in person. Please post a close up photo.

  2. Janet

    Yes yes, a close up please. This is drop dead gorgeous! I think I remember that necklace too, how fun.

  3. carlafibers

    Hi Susan, Love the Orange tunic, shoes, pants and oh yes, that necklace!! LOL!

Leave a Reply

