off to Italy

Well, I’m almost finished packing for me and the boys. We leave on Friday, and wow, are my kids excited! 2 more weeks of vacation (the Colliseum!) playing their video games (the Trevi Fountain!) and no homework (Museums!). Hmm– guess what they think they’ll be doing (and guess what they’ll actually get to do!).

It’s always a crunch of last minute doings when I go away. This time, in addition to some serious art deadlines which I’ll share when I get home, we had some clothing issues to deal with. To wit: I own dedicated California dudes who live in yucky tee shirts and shorts almost all year long. So, off to clothes shop for the heathens (with some new purchases jumping into the car for me, too!)

I got the usual whines (Moooommmm, do we hafta wear button up shirts) but managed to appease the dudes by making their new shirts a bit groovier:

as-blue-ls-shirt-bugs-blog.jpgWhy yes, those are bugs I stencilled on. And for the viewing pleasure of the diner eating behind us, there are a few more crawling on the back.

as-blue-ls-skull-blog.jpg Silk-screened skull with stamped ivy leaves. I never imagined I’d do this when I first bought the ivy stamp!

ms-orange-ls-monster-blog.jpgA not so cute monster stamp, with the ivy, again.

I was also called upon to re-fashion 2 short sleeve button up shirts: one got a stencilled skull, and the other has another monster stamped strategically so as to be eating the innocent polo player insignia.

I hope these shirts are now acceptable wear. I really do need to quit painting and go pack the suitcase!

Ciao ciao, amici! Arrivederci!


6 Comments

Filed under painted clothing, silk screen, stencil

6 responses to “off to Italy

  1. How fun! And they can be sure no one else will have the same shirts….

    Have a great trip!

  2. I love what you’ve done to the shirts! Very cool! I hope you all have a fabulous time!

  3. Gina

    What a fun Mom! Have a good time, wish I was YOU right about now! LOL
    Bring me somepin!

  4. OOOOOOOHHHHH, Italy – my very favorite place! Have a wonderful time. Tell us all about it when you get back!

  5. carlafibers

    Enjoy your trip, Susan! Have fun and be sure to take pictures of y0our crocs, too. Love those shirts!

  6. Have a wonderful time. I’m green with envy. Italy is one of my favorite places to go.

    Linda

Leave a Reply

