A Rough Week, soothed with soup

I’ve had such a rough week. Last Sunday, a friend’s DH died on the tennis courts at the age of 44, leaving behind his wife, and 2 young children. The town is in mourning, and we are all pulling together to support this devastated family.

Although I feel so very sad for my friend, I have also been grieving all over again for my beloved father, who also passed away instantly, while performing a sport he adored (diving). I didn’t understand at first why I was so hard hit by the news of my friend’s DH, until I found myself snapping at my 10 yr. old son, crying out that I had lost my father, too.

OH!

After a soothing session on the phone with my mother, who listened, then told me to eat a bowl of soup, take a hot shower, and get in bed (thank you, Mommy– I did what you said, for a change!), I understood what was happening in my own heart. I was able to process my grief, and move forward with helping my friend. After all, this time is about her and supporting her family.

As a thank you to my dear friend, Lynn, who as always supplied me with tender loving care, I am posting the comforting soup I made the other night.

Chicken and Dumpling Soup

1 large boneless chicken breast, cut into 1″ pieces

1 or 2 onions, sliced or chopped

1 cup celery, chopped

2 Tbl. flour

2 cans chicken broth

2 cans water

2 cups thinly sliced carrots

3/4 tsp. thyme (I prefer Summer Savory, tho!)

1 cup low fat Bisquick

6 Tbl. milk

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Coat a large heavy pot with oil, heat up. Add chicken and onion, saute until brown (about 10 min.) Add celery, saute another 2 min. Sprinkle mixture with flour, saute 1 min. Add broth, water, carrot, 1/2 tsp. thyme, and pepper. Stir well. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 10 min, stirring occasionally.

Combine 1/4 tsp. thyme, Bisquick, milk, and cheese in small bowl. Drop the dough by the spoonful into the soup. Cover and cook over med-low heat about 15 min.

I also drop some stale Italian bread into the soup bowls before I ladle it out. More carbs= more comfort!

Enjoy!

7 Comments

Filed under Recipe

7 responses to “A Rough Week, soothed with soup

  1. Brenda J

    So sorry for your loss Susan. Our grief rears it’s head often at unexpected times, but I’m glad you saw the reason and could get through it and support your friend. I think it is also hard to lose someone our own age — we face all those ugly questions about what if it were me, my DH, how would I make it, my kids, etc. Not easy at all. Sending lots of cyberhugs for you Susan!!

    The soup sounds great. I make it very similarly except with noodles– not sure my kids would let me change it, but sounds wonderful with dumplings too!

  2. Oh, yumlicious! I’m going to love this soup! Thanks for posting the recipe, Susan. You know that I am here for you anytime. Hugs to you, my friend.

  3. Yummy idea, Brenda! I’ll try it with noodles next time– my kids love anything with noodles!

  4. Susan, I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your friend’s husband. News like that always hits close to home for me since I came so close to being in your friend’s shoes. Every day is a gift for all of us, isn’t it?

  5. Nancy Hughson

    It’s so shocking to lose someone close to us, and then to reflect. So sorry. Its nice to hear someone else takes comfort in chicken & dumplings. Its actually one thing I my DD says I can cook! I have had chicken noodle soup on my mind this week. Memories of my dad, such strong memories I swear I can smell it. I’m going to turn the AC to cold & make some soup!

  6. Gina

    Oh Susan, I sorry for your friends loss, and for yours:( I think the shockers are the worst.
    I too made chicken soup on Sunday, but the Jewish one:) I need that comfort mug sometimes….
    Happy healing woman:)

  7. AllenQuilts

    Sending you a big cyber hug ((((0)))))

Leave a Reply

