My to-do list, with a recipe

Oof! It’s almost 11:00 am and here I still sit, trying to get up some energy. My energy level isn’t usually a problem, and today of all days, I need to get going!!

I am participating in an art quilt show at the Elverhoj museum, and I must get my artist statement written. In addition, I need to get to the lumber yard for some lathe to insert into my quilts’ hanging sleeves (note to non-quilters– on the top edge of the back side of a quilt meant for hanging, you will find a fabric tube–called a sleeve– that gets a wooden slat insert. The slat has an eye hook on each side for wire or wall mounted nails. This is a common way to hang a quilt on a wall.) I have to get to the library. I have some artwork on my machine that needs finishing before Saturday.

And here I sit!

Well, now that I’ve subjected you to my grocery list of errands, I’ll leave you with a recipe for a quick, healthy, yummy dinner.

Susan’s stir-fry with hidden veggies

  • 1 bag broccoli cole-slaw (in the refrigerated producesection with the bags of coleslaw)
  • 1 bag cole-slaw (without the dressing)
  • various veggies– broccoli, carrots, cauliflower (you won’t need a lot, since you have the sneaky broccoli cole-slaw, and cabbage cole-slaw!)
  • frozen edamame (shelled!!!)
  • 2 small onions, chopped into large-ish chunks
  • 3-4 green onions, cut into 2″ pieces, and sliced the long way
  • 2-3 garlic cloves, minced
  • left-over meat– chicken, pork, steak (or fresh meat, if you don’t have left-overs!) cut into small pieces
  • 4 cups cooked rice (I use Cal-Rose rice since it seems to cook up kind of sticky!)
  • seasoned rice vinegar, sesame oil (in the Asian section near the soy sauces) and soy sauce (I use Bragg’s Liquid Amino from the health food store. Jamie Wallen turned me onto this a few years ago; altho it sounds odd, it is really only unfermented soy sauce and has very very little sodium– good for me and my high blood pressure!)

OK! Start your rice.

Saute the chopped up veggies, and toss in a handful of the frozen edamame to thaw. Add the broccoli slaw, a generous squirt of sesame oil, and about 1/4 cup of soy sauce. When the broccoli slaw starts to wilt, add the cabbage slaw. Add some more sesame oil and soy sauce. Saute until all the slaws are wilted. Take off heat.

In a different pan, saute the onion (and fresh meat) and garlic. Warm up the cooked meat by adding to the onion pan for a few minutes.

By now, the rice should be finished cooking, and you should be hungry.

Add a generous pour of seasoned rice vinegar to the rice. Stir.

Put some rice into dinner bowls. Top with cooked veggies/slaw mixture. Add onions and meat on top. Garnish with sliced green onions.

This makes enough for 6 people…or 4 with leftovers!

4 Comments

Filed under Art quilt, Fiber, Fiber Art, life, Quilting, Recipe

4 responses to “My to-do list, with a recipe

  1. Pingback: www.topbloodpressureadvice.info » My to-do list, with a recipe

  2. Gina

    this sounds yummy susan! I pinched it, will give a whirl:) Tanks

  3. carlafibers

    Hi Susan, will have to try your recipe. Nice talking to you today!

  4. dawn

    Hi Susan!
    I made the stirfry last night and it was excellent!! I added zucchini, red onion, red bell pepper, celery, bean sprouts and carrots. Made brown rice to go with it. It was a hit with everyone!!!

    dawn

Leave a Reply

