Wearable Art Connection fashion show

Some of you know that I belong to the Los Angeles Wearable Art Connection. Every year, there is a challenge fashion show; this year the challenge was to create a vest.

I entered in the “Manipulation” (fabric, not people!) category, and I’m pleased to tell you that I was voted into First Place! Ok– enough about me, I know you want to see the goods!

me-wac-zinnia-blog.jpg

(Ha ha! Just teasing you! I’ll show you the real deal– this is just me, standing up at the podium while Diane Ricks reads my artist’s statement.)

This is the full outfit. Although the challenge only called for a vest, I was inspired with a full blown vision of the skirt, too! I created the fabric for the vest with my embellished noodles technique, using my own hand-dyed fabric for the background. The zinnias are made with gorgeous hand-dyed strips from Judy Whitehead. (Thank you sodypop! Your gifts are always appreciated– and loved and used!)

zinnia-outfit-front-blog.jpgzinnia-vest-outfit-back-blog.jpg

Here is a close up of the vest. I’ve embellished the fabric with silk flowers, fabric charms, Angelina fibers, and crystals:

zinnia-wac-vest-blog.jpg zinnia-vest-closeup-2-blog.jpg zinnia-vest-back-blog.jpg

Here is a close up of the skirt. It used to be a pair of white jeans. The inset is a piece of my hand-dyed cotton in a different coloration from the vest, with wavy strips of the vest’s fabric raw-edge appliqued to create some graphic tension. The zinnias are made using the same embellished noodle technique as the vest– I simply created them separately and appliqued them onto the skirt. I stencilled “Zinnia, Zinnia, Zinnia” using acrylic paints mottled to mimic the hand dyed background fabric:

zinnia-skirt-front-detail-blog.jpgzinnia-skirt-back-detail-blog.jpg

Here is a photo of the flowered cuff I created using Judy’s hand-dyed cotton:

zinnia-cuff-wac-blog.jpg

And, courtesy of Mary Norton from Fibervision, here is the newly crowned Zinnia Queen, modeling the entire outfit. Dig those bejewelled shoes!

me-full-length-wac-zinnia-blog.jpg

16 Comments

Filed under altered artwear, applique, dyed fabric, embellished noodle technique, Fashion, Fiber, Fiber Art, paint fabric, painted clothing, Quilting, sewing, stencil, vest, wearable art

16 responses to “Wearable Art Connection fashion show

  1. Gina

    I love it! You are so talented:) U need your OWN fashion show:)

  2. You have definately taken the Wearable Art Connection by storm. Congratulations. What a fun filled weekend.

  3. Man, you all should’ve heard the ribbing I got from my art quilt group all weekend long about the plight of the comforter!

    Hopefully, the blue ribbon creating I’ve done here will erase the horrors I created with the SU comforter. Have I crawled out of duvet-doghouse?! I promise to only show pretty creations for a while….

  4. lisakingsley

    Congratulation on your big win. I bet it feels great.

  5. Congratulations, Zinnia Queen! I’m very proud of you, my friend! As for getting out of the duvet doghouse, no way! You know what we have to do with dead horses! LOL.

  6. Congratulations! Very cool vest and I LOVE the shoes!

  7. What a fun outfit! Makes me want to get on my long-arm and start creating some fabulous fabric. Your vest is just lovely. Congratulations on the blue ribbon!

  8. Totally awesome ensemble!

  9. Hey Sue, that is fantastic, it’s looks wonderful and wearable.
    Some you see you couldn’t really wear, but your outfit is quite lovely.
    Krishna

  10. WOW, congratulations, Susan! I’m so impressed, but not at all surprised. It’s so great that you can model your own creations so beautifully, too. Way to go, Girl!

  11. Jan Thompson

    The pics don’t do justice to the outfit, until we see it modeled!!! Cute, cute, cute!!!

  12. carlafibers

    Oh Susan, I LOVE your new outfit!! You look stunning, my dear… very Susan! LOL! Congrats to you on another fabulous outfit!! Hugs, Carla

  13. Pingback: Shopping, New Dyes and WIP « Sodypop’s Creative Journey

  14. Pingback: Altered Couture « Wild Onion

  15. Pingback: ANGELINA « Satin Moon's Blog

Leave a Reply

