Upscale dip

While I know virtually nothing about football, I do know how to eat football food!  Yesterday, we spent Superbowl Sunday with a group of friends who are all really good cooks.  Yum– I knew I was in for a fine day of eating.

With all the tempting goodies to entertain me while everyone else watched the game, I overlooked a bowl of “french onion dip”.  Eh, I know what that tastes like, no need to use up prime tummy space with regular old dip.

So there I sat, kind of vaguely gazing in the direction of the tv during the 4th quarter, when the woman sitting next to me asked if I had tried the dip.  I politely shook my head, and she said, “oh, you must try it, I made it”.   Now I was full, having just gorged on the most perfect food known to mankind, chocolate chip cookies.  But I have a general rule to be polite to folks who are not yet my friends (after which time, all bets are off and I might turn on you at any given moment), so I took a chip with a scoop of dip.  Prepared to nod my thanks, I instead ended up with the bowl on my lap and the chips at my elbow.  Had a clean spoon been at hand, I would have dispensed with the chips.  This is without question the best dip ever, and as I’m still basking in the glow of deliciousness, I share the recipe below.

Enjoy!

  • 3/4 cup mayo
  • 3/4 cup sour cream (these 2 ingred. can be low fat, if you don’t have a cardiologist handy to blast out your arteries after the game)
  • 4 oz shallots, chopped and carmelized in olive oil
  • 4 oz blue cheese

Stir it all together, mashing the blue cheese into the mix to thicken.

I was tempted to write something about how if you don’t like blue cheese, blah blah blah, but you know what?  This is so easy to make, and it’s so darned good, just make it and try it.  If you don’t like it, send it over my way!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Upscale dip

  1. G

    <—-I’m on it! Looks delish!

  2. Christine Olson

    YUM!!! BTW, you’ve been tagged! 😮 🙂

  3. carlafibers

    As soon as I stop dieting, I’m all over it!! Sounds, yummy!

Leave a Reply

