Altered Couture

One of my favorite ways to update my wardrobe is to take apart an existing article of clothing, and re-invent it in a brand new way. In the fall, I took a pair of white jeans and turned them into a skirt to wear with my wearable art vest. The editors at Altered Couture magazine took a liking to the skirt, and asked me to submit it for the upcoming issue.

I recently received my magazine and I am delighted with the article! The editors devoted three full pages to my Zinnia Skirt, including one full page photograph of the skirt. I am on page 16-18, amongst pages and pages of interesting and beautiful wearable art. Here’s a preview of my skirt:

The beautiful hand dyed fabric for the flower appliques came from Judy Whitehead of Goneaway Quilting!  Judy knows I love to work with bits and pieces, and when she straightens up her hand dyes for her shop, she save the strips and sends them my way.  Lucky me!

For instructions on how to re-create my skirt, and loads of other inspiring designs– grab your purse and head out to the local bookstore– Altered Couture is on the newsstands now!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Altered Couture

  1. Okay, now I’ve gotta go to the bookstore SOON, REALLY REALLY SOON!!!!!!

    Can’t wait to read the article Susan!

    Susan wrote: I must edit my post to mention that Judy’s wonderful hand dyed fabric was responsible for most of the zinnia appliques on my skirt! Check out her etsy shop for some fabulous fabrics!

  2. Congratulations! That’s very cool!

  3. carieshields

    Way cool Susan! Congratulations on being published.

    Susan wrote: Thanks Carrie and Vicki! I am tickled pink!

  4. carlafibers

    Ohhh…. LOVE it, Susan!! Very springy and cool!

  5. Jan Thompson

    How great is this – congratulations on the article – I’m going out to see if I can find it.
    Susan wrote: Thank you for the kind words! My mother said she found the magazine at Barnes & Noble yesterday.

  6. I think this is fabulous news! I loved that skirt from the beginning, and I’m so glad you’re getting great press for the fun altering that you do! Woohoo!

Leave a Reply

