Another green confession

My family and friends know that I have a tendency to eat a little differently. I became a vegetarian in high school, back when being a vegetarian meant growing sprouts on your windowsill and searching high and low for a health food store. I fell off the wagon with a bang during a very tempting lunch featuring cheeseburgers….

I got back on the wagon a few years later, became vegan for a while (quit that when I was grazing the craft table at a photo shoot and realized that the only thing I could eat was a boiled potato sandwich– yuck!!**).

**since this is a fiber art blog, I think I’d better clarify! A “craft” table, which sounds so fiber-licious, is the term for the food table at a photo/film shoot. And vegan meant that I ate no meat, fish, chicken, or animal by-products, like dairy or eggs. It was eye-opening and a bit shocking to see the enormous table of food, and realize that there was only bread and boiled potato for me to choose. I’m very sure that these days, the table would offer more choices for alternative-eaters!

Anyway, all these years later, I am still eating semi-veg. And I sit here at the computer eating– or rather, drinking– my new breakfast of choice– a green smoothie!!

Now, I’m going to warn those of you who won’t eat your greens– click onto another blog! This is very green veggie oriented, and even my DH shook his head and closed his lips tight.

A green smoothie tastes like watery whatever-fruit-you-added. It does NOT taste bitter or spinach-y. It is a beautiful green color, and extremely powerful, vitamin-wise! All you need is a blender (I have a cheapo one that predates my marriage), some fruit, a few ice cubes, and a bunch of greens (spinach, kale, swiss chard, romaine lettuce). Oh, and an adventurous spirit (DH adds, a very open mind….)

For the fruit, choose one or two of the following: a handful of berries, a banana, 2 peeled pears or apples, 2 mangos, peeled peaches, peeled kiwi, pineapple.

For the greens, choose: 1/2 bunch of spinach, 4-5 leaves of kale (remove stems), 3 leaves of Swiss chard (remove the stems), 1/2 bunch romaine lettuce leaves.

In the blender: first toss in the fruit, then the ice cubes/water, then pack with greens. Blend until as smooth as possible– I left it kind of chunky yesterday, and I didn’t like the texture.

Here are some “recipes”:

  • 1 c strawbs, 2 kiwi, bunch spinach
  • 1 pear, 1 mango, 1 c berries, bunch spinach
  • peaches, spinach
  • 2 pears, 3 kale leaves, 1/2 bunch mint
  • 2 apples, juice and zest of 1/2 lemon, 3 kale leaves, 2 chard leaves
  • 1/2 banana, 1 lime–juice and zest, 1 apple, chard and kale

These are just some suggestions. I find that the greens are kind of interchangeable, and add little taste to the smoothie. I also found an all green recipe: 1 avocado, 1 lg cucumber, 2 c spinach, 2 leaves chard, 2 leaves kale, 3 lemons (juice) 1 1/2 c water. I haven’t tried it yet– maybe tomorrow.

I make about 5 cups, and drink 2 glasses worth one day, and 2 the next. There’s a lot of green smoothie information on the ‘net, so if you’re interested in more information, a search will turn up several pages of blogs and websites.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Another green confession

  1. Oh, dear, Susan – I should have gone on to the next blog! Sorry, but my gag reflexes are about to kick in! LOL I do admire you for going for it, though!

  2. Diane F

    Hey, I like this post, I am in need of any way to get extra iron and love smooties. I am gonna try the straw/kiwi/spinich. Now to put them on the grocery list.

  3. Jorja

    Hey, I think I’ll try that one. I pretty much live out of my VitaMix anyway & always looking for new ideas.

    And then there’s my husband, the uber-carnivore. He only eats green if it’s smothered in hollandaise and that’s where my gag reflex kicks in, LOL!

  4. Christine Olson

    I LOVE fruits and vegetables, especially vegetables and especially dark green vegetables. My family and I could probably even be a vegans IF I didn’t have to do the shopping and the preparation for it!

    But then I do love a nice rare steak occasionally and LOVE fish…so maybe not. 😉

    Thanks for the recipe. I am definitely going to have to give it a try!

  5. Pingback: Nutribullet recipes for green smoothies and green soup | Wild Onion

Leave a Reply

