Turpentine paper, not

Question:  what do you do when it’s over 100 degrees outside?

Answer:  sit on your boiling hot driveway and sploosh turpentine on a 200 page magazine, hoping to make some really cool paper.

Result:  pfffft!

Here’s the deal:  Gather together a magazine, a plastic tub, a bottle of turpentine.

Put the magazine in the tub.

Starting from the back of the magazine, open to the appropriate page, tip out some turpentine and wiggle it around the page.  Continue flipping through the magazine, back to front, coating each page with turpentine.  Eventually, there will be enough liquid in the tub, and you won’t need to pour fresh turpentine from the bottle.  Once each page has been saturated, lean the magazine upright and let it dry for a few hours.

What I’ve learned since trying this twice– unsuccessfully–is that you must use a National Geographic magazine.  I tried a high end  travel magazine and a  quilting catalogue.  Both had pages and pages of beautiful color; one had heavy paper and glossy ink, one had cheapo paper, and presumably cheapo ink.  Neither worked!  After researching some sites, I found one that said that the National Geographic pages are coated with something that makes the ink smear and do gorgeous stuff.

So– yes, I will try this again.  With a National Geographic.  Why?  This is the very question Judy asked me as I moaned about how nasty the turpentine fumes are in this heat.  Then I sent her to look at Sally Turlington’s site,  and Judy understood my stubborn refusal to let this project go!

Hopefully, the next time I blog about turpentine (altho I notice that you can use Citrasolve instead, which is a less toxic alternative to turpentine) I will be able to show you some beautiful papers!

For now, I leave you with this morning’s creative project– DS2 and his camp ‘do:

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Turpentine paper, not

  1. Hey, I love his “do”. I went to the blog and the turp paper looks like Batic. How cool is that? Good luck on your next try.

  2. carlafibers

    Great “do!” Hmmm… I must try this process sometime, Susan. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

