thoughts on multi-tasking

This morning’s post will not feature a list!**  Woo hoo!

**amended as I finished the post.  There is a list.  but it’s not a real list.

I have been thinking about mult-tasking.  Gosh, no surprise there, since I have been trying to fit in as much as possible within the time frame of my day.  One day, someone will figure out how to stretch the time-space continuum, and women everywhere will rejoice (male readers, please don’t be offended.  ‘Fess up, you know females multi-task way better than males–our brains are wired that way.  We don’t think less of you– you do other things well, and we love you for the difference!)  Or maybe, we won’t rejoice so much.  My body aches, my head hurts, and my brain wakes up spinning– if there is a way to fit more in my day, I’m not completely sure I want to know about it.

I remember way back during my dating period with Mr. Wild Onion (thanks for that, no, it wasn’t in the late 1800’s).  One night, we went to dinner with my mother.  She inquired about our days, and Mr. WO blithely replied that he had been very busy– he did 3 whole loads of laundry.  That struck me as funny (and not in a ha-ha way), but since I was trying to catch this guy, I wisely kept my thoughts to myself.  However, all these years later, I still think back to that innocent statement, and marvel that to him, doing laundry qualified as “what I accomplished today”.  Laundry doesn’t even make my “to-do” list.

Before you jump to the conclusion that DH is at all lazy, let me assure you that he is not.  The guy owns his own company, is opening another, takes care of the manly bits of the house (tongue in cheek, tongue in cheek– he does the crap I hate to do, like yardwork, trash, heavy cleaning, and sometimes even light cleaning!)  But laundry?

These days, I wish that my “to do” list consisted of:

  1. wash clothes
  2. dry clothes
  3. put away clothes
  4. have a glass of wine

However, life for me is never that open.  And truly, I like it like that.  But, today, just once, I’d like to work on one task, have my brain focused only on that one task, complete that one task, and be proud of that as an accomplishment.

Not a chance.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “thoughts on multi-tasking

  1. “But, today, just once, I’d like to work on one task, have my brain focused only on that one task, complete that one task, and be proud of that as an accomplishment.

    Not a chance.”

    I so AGREE!!!

  2. Christine Olson

    LOL! Not only an artist but a mind-reader! I was just thinking a similar thought regarding just ONCE being able to have one task and complete it.

    Guess life just refuses to cooperate at times. 😉

Leave a Reply

