Shopping in Long Beach

With all best intentions to keep my wallet closed… I still managed to spend some money on treasures.

With a new interest in beads (okay, okay. not such a new interest.   And has anyone noticed that buying beads is like buying groceries? You spend $100 and get one little bag. Or, in the case of beads, you get a little baggie!)

I bought some groovy beads:

And some Japanese seed beads:

And then I bought some books:

The books are: “Art Quilt Masters”, the SAQA exhibit book, and Robin Atkin’s “Beaded Treasures”. This last book reviews the techniques I learned in her Woven Treasures class; the book is available on her website.

Some Stewart Gill paints:

On the left is a trio of Halo interferance paints, and the 6 pack contains Metalmica.  Shiny!!

On the way home, we stopped at Marukai, a Japanese superstore. We had some lunch, and indulged in some more shopping:

These are cotton banners and wind socks… that will be cut up and used in some collage work.

Can you believe how teeny these shirts are (note: I use the plural because I also bought the shirt in green). I put the power bar next to it so you get a feel for size– the shirt stretches, but really!! Yes, it IS an adult shirt… but I plan to cut it up for the fabric.

And last but certainly not least, a little something to help out with my own “personal summer”:

Food is next!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Shopping in Long Beach

  1. Forget the food – buy more goodies!

  2. Love your goodies Susan.

  3. Ohhh . . . I love the beads. Could you bring the books to FV?

  4. Doreen Kinkade

    Hi Susan, Was great to meet you at the show. Did you make the tassel in Robins class….was it hard? I might have to get that book. Love all the goodies you got. Can’t wait to try the trapped fibers kit I bought from you.

  5. It’s probably a good thing that we didn’t get time for show ‘n tell, or I’d have spent more money! I can’t wait to see what you do with the itty bitty shirts!

Leave a Reply

