Happy Birthday to me!

Yesterday was the anniversary of my mid-thirties.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it for at least 10 more years, when I will begin celebrating the anniversary of my late 30’s.  I should be celebrating my 50th sometime before I hit 90.

Here is part of my haul:

birthday-scarf-marcus

A fleece scarf made by my 9 yr old.

birthday-cake-2008

A chocolate-y chocolate chocolate cake of chocolate, sent to me by my sister (who lives in London, and didn’t want me baking my own cake)  Sisters unite!  I would’ve just eaten a bar of chocolate and drank (drunk?)  a glass of single malt Scotch.  Chocolate cake is also fine nourishment.

birthday-card-2008

The birthday card from DH, noting that in a parallel universe, there is a woman living my life.  Ha ha, DH.  Very funny.  Boys are nice, too.  Well, they can be, when under threat from the grandmother to revere the mother for at least one day.

Alas, my one most precious photo did not turn out– I will go buy a new SD card tomorrow!  I had no idea that digital photo files would corrupt themselves.  I was just talking about how different taking photos are with a digital camera, where there’s instant gratification when you look at your camera display to check on the quality of your photo.  Do you remember the excitement when you got back the packet of developed film photos?  The amazement that you cut off Aunt Edna’s head?  That the flash washed out young Billy’s first smile?  Well, that sinking feeling came back in a rush tonight.

My older son spent the day yesterday decorating his room.  This morning, when I woke up, I was instructed to open his door.  He had rigged home-made confetti to rain down on me, and he had made banners and signs with love and birthday wishes; these were hung them all over his room.  That is the photo I lost.  Why that one and not a photo of my quilting?  Sigh.  I did keep the banners, but the room was priceless.

Anyway, the rest of my day was wonderful!  And chocolate-y……yummmm!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Happy Birthday to me!

  1. Happy Birthday Susan!!!! Sounds like you had a great day!

  2. Freda Henderson

    Happy Birthday Susan. I’m sorry you lost that precious picture.

  3. Happy birthday! That cake looks particularly chocolate-y. Want to share?

  4. Happy belated birthday, girlfriend! Sounds like you had a nice day. I can picture the look on your face with confetti flyin all over the room. That cake looks yummy. Is it the low carb variety?

Leave a Reply

