A WAC Wild Onion Jacket from UFO’s!

Recently, Mary Norton, Lora Martin, Lucilla Warren, and my mother accompanied me to a Wearable Arts Connection meeting, in Los Angeles. The speaker was June Colburn, who entertained us with stories of her fitting woes (she is very petite, and has trouble finding clothes that fit) as well as tales of her life in Japan.

One of the highlights of the day (especially since my mom was there to hear!) was a WAC member sharing her Wild Onion Jacket. I apologize, as I don’t remember this member’s name, but she did share that her jacket was made from various parts and pieces she had made from several classes in which she had participated:

wac-wild-onion-jacket-frontwac-wild-onion-jacket-back-full-view1wac-wild-onion-jacket-back1

What a clever combining of UFO’s– out of the studio closet and into the hall closet… and then out into the world as a warm remembrance of delightful classes!

Unfortunately, I didn’t take notes on all of her embellishments, but I do remember that she hand dyed the sky fabric, and the pelican is thread painted. She looked lovely in the jacket, and I was thrilled that she was so pleased with her wearable art!

Last, but certainly not least, I’d like to thank all of you readers who have been publicly and privately encouraging me to get back on the blogging bandwagon! I am so pressed for time, that I have to use very bad manners and thank you with this group note. Rest assured, your individual emails and comments have served to bolster my renewed blogging energy, and I appreciate all of you. Thank you thank you thank you! Susan

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “A WAC Wild Onion Jacket from UFO’s!

  1. Hi! just wanted to pop by and thank you for leaving such a lovely comment on my blog! (and of course while I’m here I shall have a wee browse!!)
    Carole ;D

  2. Heeyyy! I was on that trip, too! Are we in a fight and I have turned in to she-who-will-not-be-mentioned?

Leave a Reply

