Let’s join the circus

I wasn’t just eating bon-bons during my blog absence, you know! I did have the pleasure of working on some really fun quilts.

This playful applique quilt with a circus theme comes from a new customer via Baron’s Fabrics, in Camarillo, CA. In true Susan-is-a-crummy-photographer form, I didn’t photograph the entire quilt… but I did take close-ups of my favorite blocks:

elephant-texture-swirl-background-quilting

Each block featured a different background fabric and each block was a unique size; you can see the swirly background quilting I did to unify all of the blocks.

Below is a close up of the elephant-hide quilting. It is a squared off version of the rounded “pebbles” I like to quilt:

elephant-texture-close-up-quilting

Chugga chugga, chugga chugga, choo choo:

front-train-car-quilting

All of the train cars got different window treatments:

train-car-quilting-motif

Below is the triangle border, quilted with a variation of the swirls and whirls found elsewhere on the quilt:

triangle-border-quilting-motif

I have another quilt from this customer coming up tomorrow… I can’t wait to get my hands (and needle!) on that one, too!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Let’s join the circus

  1. I love the elephant hide quilting! Okay, I love all the quilting, but never would have thought of the elephant hide!!!!!

  2. Cindy

    I love – love – love that elephant. Any idea where the quilt maker got the pattern?

Leave a Reply

