Washing Meryl the Merino fleece

This is the craziness that goes on when I’m not sitting in front of the computer (or behind the handles of the longarm)

box merino unopened

This box contains 7 lbs. of freshly shorn merino wool, from a sheep named Meryl. I bought it from Terry Mendenhall, of Wool Ranch. I had no idea how this would arrive, and I opened the box fully expecting the wool to sproing out at me!

merino wrapped in box

The fleece was lovingly wrapped in a blue paper blanket. It was sweet and clean, even before I washed it.

7 lbs merino fleece opened box

Here is some fleece, ready for its first dunk:

merino ready for first dunk

Here is the fleece, soaking in the water– the lanolin is melting off the wool and into the water:

merino first soak

And, voila– 1/2 lb of clean, sweet, yummy Meryl:

merino washed

Here are some photos in darker light, showing the wonderful crimp:

merino washed fluffy locks

Deelish! Can’t wait to dye it and spin it.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Washing Meryl the Merino fleece

  1. Meryl has been a good girl.
    I could imagine her having a bath before going to the shaver :-)
    Anyway, the wool does look inviting.

  2. blackramfarm

    How lucky to have such a nice fleece! I purchased a ewe from Terry and I like to comb the merino wool for spinning. Even my fine cloth drum carder doesn’t do it justice.

  3. That is so cool…I can’t wait to see the end result!

  4. Pingback: Alpaca bath « Wild Onion

Leave a Reply

