Memory Quilt tutorial part 6

I have most of the components finished for the quilt, but I need one more:  sashing to separate the Basket blocks.  I decide on  flying geese blocks, to tie in with the points from the baskets.

Flying Geese blocks call for a special Flying Geese ruler in the Wild Onion Studio!  I love this ruler because it simplifies the math for me.  Yes, you could figure it all out yourself.  Go ahead, grab your calculator.  Meanwhile, I’m zipping away with my Flying Geese ruler!  Zip!

Leticia making flying geese

This ruler is made by another piecing genius, Lazy Girl Joan Hawley.  I also highly recommend her other ruler, the Lazy Angle.  But that’s a whole ‘nother post.

You can see the ruler, the dark green background fabric, the soapstone pencil I bought at my very first big quilt show, Quilt America, in Indianapolis, and my groovy new eyeglasses which make me look like a sexy librarian that’s my story and I’m sticking to it I am not old.

A few cuts, and I have my flying geese blocks.  One tip I learned from a Sharyn Craig, is to cut small notches in the corners of the squares before you cut apart said square to create 2 half square triangles.  This eliminates a lot of bulk in the seam when you open up the half square triangle.   If you squint (or put on your sexy librarian glasses), you can see the notch I made on the square to the right of the Flying Geese instructions.

Or you could just look at the photo below, with the casually placed pink scissors pointing jauntily at the notched corner:

Leticia flying geese in progress

Leticia flying geese made

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Memory Quilt tutorial part 6

  1. Hi Susan,

    I love your tip about cutting corners on the flying geese! Smart, smart, smart! And thank you for your very kind comments about my ruler. It makes my day. I look forward to following along on your progress with this project.

    My best,

    Joan Hawley
    Lazy Girl Designs

Leave a Reply

