Remember autumn?

Most of the U.S. is in the throes of winter, which means when you step outside, everything is grey, white, black, and very pale blue.  Often pretty, winter is not my very most favorite time of the year (except for my birthday and Christmas, what else is there to celebrate in the dead of cold?)

Autumn, however, holds a special place in my heart!  It has always been my favorite season, and this past fall, I was lucky enough to travel to Ohio in time to see the beautiful change of leaves.  This set my artistic blood pumping, and I started jonesing for the color scheme of Autumn.  Autumn comes really late in Southern California, and not to annoy anyone digging out from 800 feet of snow,  but the leaves have just barely finished falling off the trees here.  I spent a few days snapping photos for color inspiration, then got busy in the Wild Onion dye studio, dyeing some wool roving to spin into yarn.

Here are some of the inspiration photos I used:

and here’s the roving I dyed:

I can’t wait to start spinning!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Remember autumn?

  1. Cindy

    Wow, Susan…you captured it perfectly…I’m guessing you are using acid dyes? I don’t think I could get that with Kool-Aid or my Wilton Frosting dyes : )
    Can’t wait to see what that gets spun into–have fun!

  2. Oh, they are so pretty! I just want to pet them. Looking forward to see what they become.

Leave a Reply

