Versailles fabric art collage quilt

I recently completed a fabric art collage quilt I call, “Versailles”.  The central motif is a piece of fabric with a large printed castle, and I got a French feeling from it –is it French?  Maybe oui, maybe non!

I plan to use this quilt when I teach my fabric collage classes, and I wanted to demonstrate how you can start with one large motif, and work your way around the quilt top, adding bits that speak to your inner dialogue with your beginning motif.

One of my favorite motifs is the butterfly, and this quilt has a few

but my favorite addition to this quilt is the fabric printed recipe for Coq au vin that I cut out of a thrifted vintage apron!

A bientot, mes amis!

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Versailles fabric art collage quilt

  1. Me likey! Almost makes me want to try a collage quilt myself! Maybe…..just maybe. I think you need to come over and play.

  2. Stephanie

    I love this! I’m making a French inspired dress for my textiles project at school, and I was just wondering how you got the image of the palace on the fabric? Did you purchase the fabric with the image already on it? or did you silkscreen it? It’s fabulous!!! Can you give me any information. Thankyou.
    VCE student, Steph

  3. Stephanie

    I love this! I’m currently making a French inspired dress for my textiles project and I was just curious to know where you got the fabric with the palace printed on it? Did you print it yourself? Or did you buy it? It’s fabulous.
    VCE student, Steph.

    • Steph, thank you! The manor house was printed on the fabric… and I have had it for a while, so I don’t know where it came from. It’s decorator weight fabric, so don’t forget to check out the home dec area of the fabric stores!

Leave a Reply

