Triloom weaving

Yup.  I said the “W” word.  What’s a gal to do, ‘specially when she’s surrounded by some very skilled fiber enablers?

When I first learned to spin, I thought I’d take a class and be satisfied that I had had fiber spinning in my hands.  That’s how it was with macrame and tatting.  I just love learning fiber techniques, but I don’t want to “do” all of them.  (don’t get me started on my nemesis:  crochet.  shudder.  we are not friends.)  Nope.  love love love the spinning.  Got some fiber, got some spindles.  got some more fiber.  got a wheel.

Made some yarn.  Don’t knit.

Ok.  I do knit.  I’ve just never ever knit a sweater that fit a human body.

So, back to “made some yarn.  Don’t knit”.  What to do with all this yarn?

Don’t want to weave*, don’t want to weave, don’t want to weave.

Buy a loom.

Here is my beautiful tri-loom, on which I wove my first shawl, outside when the sun was shining:

Here’s a close up of the shawl (made from some commercial hot pink/orange mohair yarn):

What’s next?  Crochet**?

* Oddly, I have been happily weaving fabric using my sewing machine, and I teach a fun and artsy weaving class.  You’d think I’d be clever enough to figure out that since I enjoy weaving with fabric, I’d enjoy weaving with yarn.  I’m not always the brightest star in the sky.

**Apologies to all of you crocheters.  I do not mean to disparage the art of crochet, which I admire.  Rather, it is crochet and crochet hooks which do not admire me back.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Triloom weaving

  1. I wondered when you were going to start weaving other than on the longarm. I could have told you that you’d love it! ;>)

  2. Cindy

    Beautiful, Susan! It’s addicting, isn’t it? Now you need to try a rigid heddle loom…

Leave a Reply

