Recipes

I recently found a new-to-me food blog called Oh She Glows.  Not only is the writing delightful, the recipes are delicious.

I’ve made 3 of Angela’s recipes in the past 2 weeks, and while the Lentil/Walnut burgers probably won’t thrill my boys (I made them for some girlfriends, and we gobbled them up, so I’m hoping to slide them past the kids next week), the Guacamole Pasta and the Garbanzo Bean Soup are definitely in the Wild Onion mealtime rotation!

Here’s the Garbanzo Bean Soup recipe (adjusted up to 5 servings), with my twists (marked with a *):

  • 2 chopped onions
  • 4 – 5 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 Tbl smoked paprika* (original recipe calls for cumin, which I don’t like)
  • 2 large bay leaves
  • 1 box  (48 oz) of chicken stock* (original recipe called for vegetable stock and water, but I had chicken broth on hand)
  • 5 cans (15 oz) garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed
  • 2 Tbl tahini
  • 2 lemons, juiced

Saute the onion in olive oil until translucent, add garlic, paprika, bay leaves.  Saute 2 minutes to warm the garlic.

Add stock, tahini, beans.  Stir well, bring to a boil, then turn the heat down to simmer and cook 5 minutes.

Remove from heat and let cool for 5 minutes (note:  the soup was more flavorful when served hot/warm, not piping hot!)  Remove the bay leaves.  Use a stick blender to blend the soup until smooth OR pour soup into blender in batches, blend until smooth.  Stir the lemon juice into the cooled soup.  Adjust seasoning with salt and pepper as needed.

I served the soup with a yummy brown nut bread.  The dinner was a major success with all the Onions.

My goal has been to add more vegetarian recipes into our week, which I have done rather seamlessly.  With Angela’s help, this should be even easier.  Yay for Meatless Mondays and Vegetarian Vednesdays!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

