planting tomatoes

I’ve lived in CA for 13 years, and guess how many tomatoes I’ve harvested from my own plants? Close your eyes. That’s how many. In Chicago, the damn tomatoes I grew were as big as my head. Here? Zip. Yesterday, I bought a few huge bags of miracle grow potting soil, sliced X’es into them, and stuck the plants right into the top of the bag. With chicken mesh under the bags, the gophers can suck it this year.

My next door neighbor  put in a zillion raised beds for kale, etc, so I’m hoping that I’ll find bags of produce at my door (Hi Vicky!  You’re my favorite neighbor!). And I have a flat of cukes that I’m going to plant (again, in potting soil bags) among the bougainvillea that grows up the office wall.

We’ll see how it all goes. I’m better at buying/planting than I am at tending. But my kids are still alive, as I do remember to water and feed them, so there’s some hope that the plants will get some attention this summer, too.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

